Living Sacrifices


When the firemen rushed into the distressed Twin Towers on 9/11, they gave no thought to their own lives, their own families or to the danger that they advanced toward.  When the Principal and the Counselor at Sandy Hook charged the gunman, they had only a desire to save the children.  When a soldier on the front lines steps in front of a ‘buddy saving his life, he does it without thought of himself.  A mother who has a child with enormous disabilities, spends her life caring for her loved one.  Others may forsake them, but she stays steadfast.  A grandmother who gives up her retirement plans to care for her grandchildren because her daughter is in jail.  An elderly couple who have spent their lives together are now facing the dreaded disease of Alzheimer’s and the husband who loves his dear wife cares for her tenderly and no one sees and no one seems to care.

Everyday, someone becomes a living sacrifice.  Some of them we call them heroes; we may not even be aware of the sacrifice of others.  They are selfless people who have but one thought and it is the welfare of others.

Today’s Lesson: 

Considering what people will sacrifice to save the life of another in this world system, how much more we, who love Jesus,

are privileged to sacrifice our lives for the opportunity of others to spend eternity with Him.  What a glorious privilege we have.  We may share the wonder of eternal life that saves others for eternity.

He isn’t mad at you.  He has made the way for you to come to Him.  It isn’t about laws and failure;  it is about love and faithfulness.  Such a great God is truly trustworthy.  He has given those of us who come to Him everything that He has given His Son.  We are joint heirs with Him.

I pray that He brings people to me with prepared hearts so that I may tell them of His great love for us and how he sent Jesus to pay for all the condemnation and sin that has been plaguing us and trading it for His great love and faithfulness.  Where ever He leads me, I will go.

There is a place in the Bible that says we are “to present our bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is our reasonable service.”  I have read it many times.  It had always seemed to be an unreasonable request that asked me to give up my hopes and dreams.  As I have matured in the love of the Lord, I have come to realize that my hopes and dreams have changed.  I only want what He wants.I want His desires to be my desires.  I have placed myself in His hands as a living sacrifice.  I pray that I may be wholly, acceptable to Him.

He knows your heart and He wants to come to you.  He wants to have a love relationship with you individually.  Start seeking Him with all your heart.  Quit looking at what is holding you back.  He will help you develop a strong relationship.  He makes it so simple.  He will give you His Spirit to help you on the path of life to enjoy it to the fullest!

God’s heart hungers for you.  If you want to know Him and have never invited Jesus into your heart and life, here is a short prayer to help you reach out to His great Love:

Father,  Because of what Jesus Christ did on the cross and through His resurrection, I ask Jesus to come into my heart.  Sin isn’t big enough to hold me as I reach out to You.  This life that I have now received will allow me to live with You  throughout eternity.   Jesus blood purchased me out and made me righteous.  Nothing can ever take me out of your love again.  Father, I believe You exist and that You sent Jesus here for me.  I receive you into my heart and I give you my life.   I receive Your life into me and now I join others who have a part in the abundant life.  I am a joint-heir with You on the other side!  Teach me what I am an heir to.  Show me how to walk with You and show me how to tell others of Your great love.  Amen 

This is what newness of life is all about.  Go to:  http://www.gothedistanceradioministry.org/our-pastors/larry-green/ and listen to the short teachings from April 15th to April 20th for more light on your new life.

Leave a Reply

